cleveridiot.com » the clever bit » pimp my rig
 Print Thread
Building computer from stratch!
vadoom
Hello everyone!
I have decided to get a desktop after years of playing on a laptop. I have to admit that Battlefield Bad Company 2 was the trigger.
I won't overclock right away but will crossfire for sure in the future. The resolution will be 1900 v 1080 (i think)
NB: i'm really a computer newbie atm so i will pay MSY to build it for a fee (therefore i need to buy all the products from there):

http://www.msy.co.../PARTS.pdf
All price are in Australian dollars. 1 euro= 1.6 AUD. 1 GPB= 1.8 AUD
I would like to spend as less as i can without sacrificing the performance of the build.

So here is it:

-> PCU: Core i5-750 $221

-> Mobo: Gigabyte P55A UD4P $225

-> Ram: 4GB Kit DDR3 1333 PNY or Kingston or 4G Kit DDR3 1333 G.Skill-NT orPatriot-Signature. All between $108-118. I think the G skill are better but i'm not quite sure. Any opinions?

-> GPU: 1GB 5850 HIS $377

-> PSU: do i need 650W or 750W (with crossfire)? Antec 650 or 750W? ($149 or $169). They don't seem to have any Corsair PSUs.

-> Case: Antec 300 or 900. I am opting for the 900 atm for the better airflow (Sydney is quite a hot city). $142 for the Antec 900

-> Fan: Coolermaster Universal Hyper TX3 $29. Any better choice there? Antec SmartCool 120mm or Noctua P12-1300 120mm / NF-S12B FLX 120mm ?

-> HDD: Samsung SATA 1TB $95 or WD SATA 1TB $105 or Seagate SAT $105?

-> Keyboard: Any suggestions there? I'm currenly looking at the G15 ($93) or Razer Arctosa / Lycosa for $46 / 98

-> OEM 64 bit MS Win 7 Home Premium $115

-> Monitor: I'm torn between 2 monitors: 23" 2ms Samsung P2350 ($235) or 23" 5ms Samsung 2333sw ($195). I have a preference for the P2350 for the better response time. What do you think?

-> Dvd player: I'm lost here, any ideas? : IDE Aopen/Samsung/LG/Pioneer118/LiteOn/SONY/ASUS 33/38/38/39/39//43/43 SATA Aopen/BenQ/Samsung/LG/Pioneer218/LiteOn/SONY/Asus 33/33/38/38/38/39/43/43